Nourishment Mindset Podcast
The Nourishment Mindset
Celebrity Fitness Trainer Vinnie Tortorich on Faux Meat, Boobie Scales, Washboard Abs and more
0:00
-1:08:39

Celebrity Fitness Trainer Vinnie Tortorich on Faux Meat, Boobie Scales, Washboard Abs and more

Today I introduce y'all to one of my idols, the "Baryshnikov" of health and fitness!

I blame today’s guest, Vinnie Tortorich, for my professional midlife crisis, y’all!

Watch on Youtube, Y'all

YOU CAN ALSO LISTEN ON APPLE OR SPOTIFY.

Ten years ago, at 35 I was operating the successful “dream job” wine and food marketing agency I’d created. Sure, I was working crazy ass hours pouring my soul into it (and somewhat neglecting my health), but I loved what I was doing. The problem is, I’d become pudgy — not exactly fat — especially by today’s standards, but certainly not the fit competitive age group triathlete I’d been at 25. I wasn’t able to do my normal calories in/out math because I’d become injured (again), from over exercising and lack of nutrient dense foods. My inner eating disorder brain from my ballerina teen years was triggered: did I need to return to extremes to get this weight off? Surely there had to be another way.

One day, Adam Carolla hosted Vinnie, a celebrity fitness trainer and straight-talkin’ southerner with a sense of humor, so I checked out his Fitness Confidential podcast. This led to me inhaling his book of the same name, three documentary films — Fat, Fat 2 and Beyond Impossible, and following him on Instagram, where he’s been posting some truly funny videos like “beef supplements for vegans” and “how to make a documentary.” I then hired him for a consult because I was having trouble becoming fat adapted; y’all can work with him, too.

Fast forward to this episode, where this former ballerina got to interview her health and fitness “Baryshnikov.” (And learn that he’s a renaissance man and knows this dancer’s work!) We discuss his “secret sauce” for achieving sustainable fat loss, how he’s kept cancer at bay for 15 years by avoiding certain inflammatory fare, why soda is metabolic train wreck and more.

Please take a few moments to rate and review my podcast on Apple or Spotify. I’m giving everyone who does this a complimentary signed copy of my Nourishment Mindset book coming out in early 2023. And while I’d love a five-star review, I want y’all to be honest so posting any star review means you will receive my thank you gift.

Share Nourishment Mindset Podcast

Book Complimentary Coaching Consult

Connect on LinkedIn

Follow on Instagram

0 Comments
Nourishment Mindset Podcast
The Nourishment Mindset
We're on a metabolic mission to help you (re)discover your vitality through real whole foods, sassy straight talk and the pleasures of the table.
There are a bajillion health podcasts out there, and a lot of 'em are as fun as a trip to the dentist. Here at The Nourishment Mindset we blend sassy straight talk with a holistic, real whole foods foundation. Our metabolic mission is helping you achieve vitality and reverse chronic, lifestyle conditions like type 2 diabetes, obesity and malaise through (re)discovering the pleasures of the table.
You'll learn tips from host Dixie Huey, a wine industry veteran who spent 20 years dining with farmers, chefs and winemakers around the world before listening to her calling to become a health coach after healing from years of dieting in a calorie counting prison.
Hers is a story of earned knowledge, personal failure, and paradox -- one she hopes will inspire others to appreciate the incredible nature of food as a source of nourishment, connection and pleasure. Dixie is a certified Nutrition Network Advisor, Group Fitness instructor, MBA, certified sommelier and author of The Nourishment Mindset.
Our guests range from organic foodies and hemp and wine growers to celebrity coaches and medical providers, Ditch the dogma and BS, silence the noise and switch back to the traditional sound practices that have nourished for millennia.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Dixie Lee Huey